The Mercies

£14.99

Inspired by real historical events, The Mercies is a breathtaking story of love, fear and obsession, and the strength and courage of women.

Description

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020.

For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardø is now a place of women.

Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . .

‘Beautiful and chilling’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe
‘Took my breath away’ – Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

Additional information

Weight 0.461 kg
Dimensions 21.6 × 13.5 × 2.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

341

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Mercies”

Your email address will not be published.