The Great Fortune: The Balkan Trilogy 1


The first novel in The Balkan Trilogy is a powerful depiction of love and friendship during wartime WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY RACHEL CUSK ‘A fantastically tart and readable account of life in eastern Europe at the start of the war’ Sarah Waters ‘Wonderfully entertaining’ Observer Autumn, 1939. Newly-weds Guy and Harriet Pringle step aboard the train to Bucharest. Guy’s lecturing job awaits, alongside friends and the ever-ardent Sophie – but for Harriet, alone and naive, it’s a strange new life. As Guy’s world collides with that of his new bride, Harriet realises how little she knows the man she has married. Manning’s masterpiece, alive with exhilarating characters, is a haunting evocation of young love and the uncertainty of war.

Peek Inside

SKU: 9781786091130 Category: Tags: , , , ,


Author Olivia Manning Published by Cornerstone ISBN 1786091135 EAN 9781786091130 BIC Code Cover Paperback

Read a sample here


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Great Fortune: The Balkan Trilogy 1”

Your email address will not be published.